What if Google ads were replaced with inspirational words? It’s happening to me.

Holstee Manifesto, inspireWhat if when you visited an ad-supported website, you were shown the Holstee Manifesto?

Back in December I saw an ad for Holstee. For the first time ever, I clicked (and ended up buying inspiring notecards printed on 50% elephant poo). Since that fine day, Holstee has been stalking me.

And I love it.

I read about monkeys plaguing Puerto Rico and Holstee is there. I browse Colossal; Holstee is there. NYT, WSJ, YouTube..Holstee is there.  There’s really nothing like clicking on a link and getting a thumbnail of “share your passion” or even better — while wasting time on Reddit, “life is short” pops up and jolts my supernova self back into focus.

I occasionally click the ads and buy more things from Holstee, as much in joy to share their kind words with friends as to keep these awesome ads in my browser.

Have you ever experienced something like this? Have you ever tried hacking Google Ads?

In case you need visual proof, here are a couple screenshots:

monkeys plague puerto rico

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 1.09.26 AM Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 8.42.52 PMScreen Shot 2013-01-04 at 11.37.34 AM

4 thoughts on “What if Google ads were replaced with inspirational words? It’s happening to me.

  1. ha, love this post. we’re just getting our feet wet in online advertising and we’ve gotten feedback that went both ways. as of the past couple weeks, we’ve toned it down a bit. overall our goal was to create ads that felt more like artwork on the page than a persistent pitch to sell readers of those sites. in either case, im happy to hear it was appreciated.

    michael rad

    • Are you from Holstee? If yes, your ads are awesome! Please keep running them — I keep buying more things in part because they fill my browsing with delight. I just hung up a manifesto in my living room today, in fact. I took a pic to post on your fb :)

Leave a Reply

