inverse dictionary

I have a lot of ideas.  So many, in fact, that I need more words than I know, more time than I have, and more tools than I understand how to use in order to bring them to fruition.  Until Matrix-esque plug-in knowledge (a la “I know kung fu“) rolls around,  I would love a tool that helps me find a word I wonder about by inputting the definition.  Does something like this exist?  I think it would inspire me just by being cool.

I read a great quote yesterday: “you can’t do much about the length of your life, but you can do something about its width and depth,”  True.  I hope all of you are living well and exploring the unknown and doodling and sharing ideas and writing to people who inspire you.  That last one is the trick to loving your inbox.  When people I respect send thoughtful correspondence it makes me smile at least 1/4″ wider.

I’ve been looking for a word that means “interesting, stimulating, challenging, exciting” for about 6 years now.  I will give it one more year until I pull a Shakespeare and make up my own.  Creativity, procrastination or patience hmm.

5 thoughts on “inverse dictionary

    • Thesauruses, while useful, aren’t too fun to play around with. I had a note in here about thesauruses right before the line about things that inspire me just by being cool, but took it out. I love reading but there’s only so many words in list format one can handle in any given time. Perhaps I just want a new thesaurus user interface :)

  1. I think the spirit of the word you are looking for is better in Italian. It is ‘esaltante’. It brings interesting and exciting together in one word.

Leave a Reply

